Huedin is a town in Cluj County, Romania.
Huedin is located at the northern edge of the Apuseni Mountains. It is surrounded by the villages of Nearşova, Domoşu de Criş, Horlacea, and others. The village of Bicălatu (Magyarbikal in Hungarian) is also under Huedin's administration. Lately, Huedin has started to be known for its ecotourism initiatives.
The town of Huedin was founded in the Middle Ages. From 1330 up until 1848, the landlords of the town were the Bánffy family (see the town's Hungarian name of Bánffyhunyad). The town was part of the Kingdom of Hungary. In 1526, Huedin became part of the Principality of Transylvania and, until 1867, of the Grand Duchy of Transylvania.
The town boasts a strong historical Hungarian heritage. On September 26, 1895, Emperor Franz Joseph visited Bánffyhunyad following the end of Hungarian Army manoeuvres in Transylvania and was given an enthusiastic welcome by the townspeople, who built an arch decorated with the region's flowers and plants for the occasion. In 1910, the town's population was 5194, of whom 90.5% spoke Hungarian. At that time, 57.5% were Calvinist, 20.7% Jewish, and 10% Roman Catholic. From 1918 to 1940, the town was part of Romania. From 1940-44, it was again part of Hungary, due to the Second Vienna Award. The town is home to a 13th century Gothic Reformed Church.